Showing posts with label Devotionals. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Devotionals. Show all posts

Monday, January 27, 2014

Book Review Of One God One Plan One Life By Max Lucado

One God One Plan One Life By Max Lucado


Synopsis:

One of America’s favorite pastors, Max Lucado offers his first 365 devotional for teens, encouraging them to trust God and His perfect plan for their lives.
Life is hard, and today’s teens could use daily guidance and reassurance that God is with them, through it all and despite it all. In One God, One Plan, One Life, bestselling author Max Lucado offers teens an accessible way to connect with their Lord. Daily devotions address such topics as faith and obedience but also offer wisdom on topics that teens battle, such as purity, bullying, alcohol and drug use, and self-image. Each day includes a short

Monday, September 30, 2013

Book Review Of Take Flight (A Sisterchick's Devotional) By Robin Jones Gunn & Cindy Hannan

I Just Love Devotionals And Robin Jones Gunn Put The Icing On The Cake For This Devotional, A Sister Chick At Heart!

My Review Of Take Flight By Robin Jones Gunn & Cindy Hannan


SISTERCHICK® n.: a friend who shares the deepest wonders of your heart, loves you like a sister, and provides a reality check when you’re being a brat.


~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~



Synopsis:


Dig In, Soar Up!
Spread your wings and really go places with Take Flight , the first devotional/ponder/prayer/make-it-what-you-need book in the Sisterchicks in the Word series! Robin Jones Gunn and her Sisterchick, Cindy Hannan, offer a collection of fresh, insightful devotions that will rejuvenate the quiet time gone dry. Along with key Scripture verses, they kick in travel tips, wisdom (such as, when a woman knows she’s loved, she can do anything ), Sisterchick locators (find me the best scone in the world!), and more. Complete with ideas for Sisterchickin’ (slang for Sisterchicking; activities for Sisterchicks to do together, as in, “Don’t bother us now; we’re Sisterchickin’!” Not to be confused with Sisterchicken). New. Deep. Different. Fun!
Open the Door and Soar!
SISTERCHICK® n.: a friend who shares the deepest wonders of your heart, loves you like a sister, and provides a reality check

Saturday, August 24, 2013

A Wonderful Devotional - Sweet And Simple Moments With God By Kim Newlen

Synopsis:


As women, sometimes we’re running so fast that we forget to do the things that will most revive our spirits and renew our hearts. In The One Year Sweet and Simple Moments with God Devotional, Kim Newlen shares heart-lightening insights she’s gathered from pausing and listening to God in her day-to-day life, encouraging us all to take a sweet and simple moment to be still with God every day. When we do, we’ll be surprised at how much of a difference it will make in everything else! This year, make every moment count through spending sweet and simple time with the One who can carry your burdens best.



~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ 




Author Bio:


Isn't life sweet and wonderful! I love every minute this side of heaven while waiting to cross over to heaven! Like every woman, I face my own challenges and difficulties in life - like right now, I'm under treatment at MD Anderson Cancer Center for a serious form of breast cancer after surviving breast cancer 9 years ago. But I know that God has His arms firmly around me and I will not despair!

I have loved encouraging women in my home the first Monday of every month for more than 18 years. Tea and a sweet treat each Sweet Monday of the month is a special time to fellowship with other women. "Sweet Monday" started out of loneliness after becoming a stay-at-home mom and wanting to connect with other women. This special day of the month is always a priority for me and I get so excited to see who will arrive every time! (You'll learn more about this throughout my devotional).

I love helping all women grow in their faith and my faith is strengthened by sharing with women. That's one reason I decided to write my new devotional, "The One Year Sweet & Simple Moments with God Devotional," (published by Tyndale House Publishers in September, 2013 and available for pre-order now). What better way to sweetly interact with women and encourage each other?!

In my new devotional, I have tried to share insights gathered from pausing and listening to God in my day-to-day life, encouraging us all to take a sweet and simple moment to be still with God every day. I've read the Bible through every year for the past 10 years and I hope to encourage other women through what I have learned through God's powerful Word and by seeing His Hand in my life.

I also love hosting tea parties for my friends and their daughters, and wearing my big pink hat makes it so much fun! I even have a big PINK TRUCK (I really do!!!). I hang my pink hat in Richmond, Virginia, sharing life with my best friend and husband, Mark, a former state director for Fellowship of Christian Athletes and a basketball player at the University of Virginia, and my precious college daughter, Kali.

Please visit my website to learn more (www.kimnewlen.com) and thank you for sharing God's Word every sweet day! I hope you will find "The One Year Sweet & Simple Moments with God" inspiring and encouraging - and even a little bit funny and sweet!
His,
Kim
BSSYP (Be Sweet. Say Your Prayers)
SP (Sweet Pea): You'll learn all about BSSYP in the devotional!)


~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~  

SOLD

Buy Link:

Friday, May 31, 2013

Pray The Scriptures By Kevin Johnson ~ A Mom After God's Own Heart Devotional By Elizabeth George

Pray The Scriptures By Kevin Johnson


Synopsis:

When you don't know the words to pray, God provides them for you.

You desire a deeper prayer life, to pray God's will and his promises, but perhaps you feel stuck. This 40-day prayer experience will energize your prayer life and draw you closer to God through his very words. If you've ever wondered what God wants to hear from you, Kevin Johnson will guide you in praying back to God the words of Scripture, applying them to your life and circumstances.

"Prayer starter" phrases jump-start your practice of writing and speaking Scripture prayers. Each day's entry includes an introductory devotional, Scripture text, and concluding questions for reflection, discussion, and further prayer.

Take your prayer life to a deeper level



~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ 

Author Bio:

During his years as a junior high youth pastor, Kevin Johnson noticed something. Although he wanted the kids to read the Bible and figure out a modern application for their lives, there was nothing written for their age group to guide them along this journey. So, he decided to write books.

Kevin has written over 20 books for youth, including Can I Be a Christian Without Being Weird?, Does Anybody Know What Planet My Parents are From?, What's with the Mutant in the Microscope?, Pray Hard, Bust Loose, Catch the Wave and his recent release, Get Smart. Kevin has degrees from Fuller Theological Seminary and the University of Wisconsin-River Falls (in English and Print Journalism).

Kevin and his wife, Lyn, live in Minnesota with their three children—Nate, Karin, and Elise. Some of Kevin's hobbies include shortwave radio, backyard astronomy, and computers.

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

Buy Link:






~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~
A Mom After God's Own Heart Devotional  By
Elizabeth George

 

Synopsis:

Drawing from her bestselling books (more than 6.5 million copies sold) and popular "Woman After God's Own Heart" radio spots and podcasts, Elizabeth George shares positive and energizing devotions for moms presented in a lovely padded cover.

Moms with children of all ages will delight in Elizabeth's personal experience and understanding of Scripture as they...




  • refuel with the power of God's Word


  • tap into Scripture's wisdom for parenting


  • get a better picture of God's purposes for moms


  • trust Him with their child's safety and future


  • make big and little moments count for their families


  • find hope and courage in God's promises

    These upbeat and to-the-point offerings give moms daily direction and confidence for the amazing privilege of loving and raising children.



  • ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~



    Author Bio:

    Elizabeth George is a bestselling author and national speaker dedicated to helping women live a life after God's own heart. She has written over 60 books with more than 7 million copies sold. For over 30 years, her teachings and steadfast example have helped readers:

    * Simplify life by focusing on God's priorities.
    * Appreciate God's Word and apply it to everyday situations.
    * Respond to circumstances with confidence by seeing yourself through God's loving eyes.
    * Increase closeness in marriage by serving and honoring each other.
    * Powerfully shape the hearts of children and teenagers.
    * Enjoy greater intimacy with God.

    Women around the world are drawn to Elizabeth's approach of daily starting with the Bible to handle life's challenges. Her ability to weave biblical truth into everyday issues has led readers to make over 15 of her books bestsellers. Elizabeth's distinctive work, A Woman After God's Own Heart, has sold over 1 million copies and received the ECPA Platinum Book Award. Likewise, her delightful book, A Girl After God's Own Heart, remains a treasured gift for moms and grandmothers and made the CBA Bestseller List for fourteen consecutive months.

    Elizabeth also encourages women through her radio broadcast, "A Minute for Busy Women," featured on Christian radio stations across America and at www.OnePlace.com. She is also a regular keynote speaker at women's conferences and retreats.

    Elizabeth holds a Bachelor of Science in Education from the University of Oklahoma. In addition, she has taught in public and private schools and worked with age groups ranging from preschool to adult.

    In the midst of her busy writing schedule, Elizabeth loves spending time with her husband, Jim, their two married daughters, and eight grandchildren. When she's not writing, she enjoys taking daily walks along golden sands and enjoying the beautiful Hawaiian sunsets. They reside in Honolulu, Hawaii.

    Walk with Elizabeth as she joyfully leads you to live a life after God's own heart!

    For more information, visit: www.ElizabethGeorge.com


    ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

    Buy Link:

    Friday, January 11, 2013

    My Review Of Just Like Jesus Devotional: A Thirty-Day Walk with the Savior By Max Lucado

    Overview:

    What does it mean to be "Just like Jesus?" This personal month-long journey with the Savior offers Scripture, practical devotions and application sessions to pattern one's life after Christ.
    Starting at day one, readers meet the Savior and find their way of thinking challenged. Who is this Nazarene? Who is the Son of God? How can we become more like Him? How can I reflect His grace and goodness to others?

    As readers begin to think more like Christ, they are challenged to put words into action as the journey escalates into a full force, radical retracing and renewal of what it means to be a follower of Christ.

    Just Like Jesus, The Devotional is daily encouragement and instruction for becoming a "do-er" as well as a follower of Christ.

    My Take On This Book:

    I being a Max Lucado fan absolutely love this devotional. I have

    Wednesday, November 7, 2012

    My Review Of Yours Is the Day, Lord, Yours Is the Night

    "Yours Is the Day, Lord, Yours Is the Night" gives a framework for prayerful devotions with a morning and evening prayer for each day of the year. The prayers have been selected to reflect the seasons and the liturgical calendar.

    They are intended not to replace your personal, spontaneous prayers but to serve as a springboard for them. Editors Jeanie and David Gushee have collected inspiring contributions from Protestant, Catholic, and Eastern Orthodox sources; from all continents; from the Old Testament; and from each century of Christian history. "Yours Is the Day, Lord, Yours Is the Night" will enhance

    Friday, August 26, 2011

    The Power Of A Praying Woman Bible & 7 Prayers That Will Change Your Life Forever, By Stormie Omartian

    I just wanted to share this with everyone. I just got this bible yesterday and I LOVE it. I couldn't even wait to get it, because I was so excited. I love Stormie, although I don't have all of her books and devotions (but would love to).

    This bible is an NIV bible as well as a prayer and study bible, and the devotions by Stormie are awesome, so if you like different types of bibles pick this one up, you won't be sorry you did.
    Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...