Showing posts with label Religion. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Religion. Show all posts

Monday, September 17, 2012

My Review Of 'Wild Grace' By Max Lucado

Bestselling author Max Lucado explains that if teens let God’s grace change them, shape them, and strengthen them, their lives will never be the same. The pressures and disappointments of the world are shaping today’s teens. However, Max Lucado encourages them to take a close look at what can shape their hearts and their futures from the inside out—God’s grace.

Lucado has done it again in this wonderfully written book for teens on the Grace of God. I love how he inserts true short stories in this book that will definitely reach the teen audience; something

Tuesday, June 26, 2012

My Review Of The Girl's Still Got It - By Liz Curtis Higgs

I really enjoyed how Higgs breaks down the verses in Ruth and what was actually happening at that time and what the verse was trying to reflect.

I have read the book of Ruth a few times and never got out of it what I got out of this book by Liz. I could not wrap my mind around how Ruth must have felt when the time came to give all she had ever know and was familiar to her up, as I am sure allot of us would in today’s world.

I enjoyed this book immensely and would recommend it to individuals as well as group studies. Through the book we go with Ruth from Moab to Bethlehem with her mother-in-law Naomi. But what they don’t know is they are going to come together in a way they never thought possible. Great read!

I received this book free from the publisher through the Waterbrook Press book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.





Thank you for stopping by, have a blessed day!

Saturday, June 16, 2012

My Review Of 'Faith And Other Flat Tires: Searching For God On The Rough Road Of Doubt'

Overview: At age twenty-one, Andrea Palpant Dilley stripped the Christian fish decal off her car bumper in a symbolic act of departure from her religious childhood. At twenty-three, she left the church and went searching for refugein the company of men who left her lonely and friends who pushed the boundaries of what she once held sacred.In this deeply personal memoir, Andrea navigates the doubts that plague believers and skeptics alike: Why does a good God allow suffering? Why is God so silent, distant, and uninvolved? And why does the church seem so dysfunctional?Yet amid her skepticism, she begins to ask new questions: Could doubting be a form of faith? Might our doubts be a longing for God that leads to a faith we can ultimately live with?

My Review: After Andrea graduated from college, she left the church for 2 years, because she was tired of church. She also left because of her questions that nobody at the church could answer for her. Such as; “How am I supposed to relate to a God I can't see, touch or hear?” “Why did a good God allow suffering?” “And why is God so silent, distant, and uninvolved?” “Could doubting actually be a form of faith?” “Why couldn't the church answer my doubts?” I have asked these questions myself in my Christian walk, and I believe allot of us have had our doubts.

I found ‘Faith and Other Flat Tires’ to be down to earth honest (from the gut honest), humorous, and very inspiring. I found myself in this book because it is for real honesty from the gut. I have found someone who has actually felt the same way I have felt for years, and the same questions and doubts I have had, I don’t feel all alone in feeling this way now. Dilley actually had the guts to put it out there for the world to read. I recommend this book to all Christians who have had these questions and doubts and have never shared them with anyone in fear that that person or the church may look down on you. I have never shared my doubts in fear that the church will look down on me. I once read in a Max Luccado book that doubt is a form of sin, so I have been sinning for many years if that is the case. Awesome memoir!

This book was sent to me for free by Zondervan in exchange for my review. The opinions are my own.

Click here to download a sample chapter of 'Faith and Other Flat Tires: Searching for God on the Rough Road of Doubt'

About The Author: Andrea Palpant Dilley grew up in Kenya as the daughter of Quaker missionaries and spent the rest of her childhood in the Pacific Northwest. She studied English literature and writing at Whitworth University. Her work as a writer has appeared in Rock and Sling, Geez, and Utne Reader, as well as the anthology Jesus Girls: True Tales of Growing Up Female and Evangelical. Her work as a documentary producer has aired nationally on American Public Television. She lives with her husband and daughter in Austin, Texas.

Thank you for stopping by!

Tuesday, February 21, 2012

A Great Book For Your Bedside Table To Keep Handy

Todd D. Hunter focuses on showing us how much of our behavior is in fact sin and getting to the root of these sin issues. This book isn't written to condemn but rather to help us overcome and defeat these sins once and for all. Most of the sins addressed in this book are things considered "socially acceptable," for example, procrastination, over-eating, and media addiction, laziness.

Hunter, also an Anglican bishop, gives us beautiful, powerful prayers from ancient liturgies as one remedy

Wednesday, February 8, 2012

From Blah To Awe: Shaking Up A Boring Faith By Jenna Lucado Bishop

Bishop is trying to reach young girls with her writing about how our faith can sometimes get boring, and it does sometimes, but allot of people will not admit to that. I know it does for me, my walk in faith and church life, and yes I suppose I would say God can get boring if I let it, I choose to stay in an “awe way” most of the time, but everybody has those “blah” moments.

But there are ways to change this and Bishop is sharing her own story of her own faith walk when church, God and life just got plain boring.

Sunday, February 5, 2012

Between Lions And Lambs By N.T. McQueen

Between Lions & Lambs is about a young man whose life to him was nothing but torture starting at a very young age, and in all reality it was. I was absolutely stunned and drawn in all at the same time throughout this whole book, it was a tad bit slow at first, but once you get going it is an eye opening read. It made me take a look at what religion really is and how God actually felt about religion. And it definitely made me take a look at the fact that my faith belongs in God not in man.


Ezekiel Clemens becomes a self-professed evangelist

Saturday, October 29, 2011

A Year With Jesus Daily Readings And Reflections by R.P. Nettelhorst

A Year with Jesus, the primary focus is to allow the scriptures that contain Jesus' dialogue to uniquely speak to the reader. The author follows each reading with insights and applications to help explain the context and nuances of the text. The unique titling of each meditation and the nontraditional themes and organization help bring Jesus to our daily lives. Too many times the impact and grandness of the actual words Jesus spoke, as recorded in the Bible, are lost in the telling of the story. This is a description the author gives of this book, which this would have been true for me if the author would have actually written the book as stated.

Wednesday, October 19, 2011

Book Review Of Heaven Is For Real By Todd Burpo With Lynn Vincent

Little 4 year old Colton Burpo's family is left stunned as he begins to describe heaven and the people he encountered there with an accuracy that should be impossible for a 4 year old child. Colton has a message for his family about his encounters, and questions for his daddy whom is a Pastor at a local church. I have to be honest when I first agreed to review this book I had my doubts, even as a Christian it was hard for me to wrap my mind around a 4 year old telling his story about heaven.

Thursday, October 13, 2011

Grumble Hallelujah: Learning to Love Your Life Even When It Lets You Down

Reviewing Grumble Hallelujah: Learning to Love Your Life Even When It Lets You Down was such a joy for me, because I could relate to Caryn so much and her honesty is awesome. If you had told Caryn Dahlstrand Rivadeneira while she was crying on the kitchen floor that she could find a way to praise God in this situation, she wouldn’t have believed you.
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...